• Sandipta Pal

How to manage Queue in Q Waits Business?

Updated: Oct 11

Your customers will be able to check in to your business only when you open the Queue for your business. By default, your Queue is turned off when you install and setup the application. At the start of the day when you are ready to attend customers, you will have to open your Queue, so that your customers can check in to your business remotely.


Turn-ON/OFF Queue


To open your Queue, tap on the hamburger icon, then tap Queue and then Settings. In settings, you will find the Queue turn on/off feature. Tap on this button to turn it on (should turn green). At the end of the business day, we suggest you close the Queue to let your customers know that you are not accepting customers any more for the day. Do this by going to settings again and tap on the Queue button (should turn red).




Queue Status


There are 6 statuses - Active, Waiting, Hold, Complete, Cancelled & Abort. In the Queue screen, you will get to see all the statuses on the top of the screen. If you are using portrait mode, you may have to scroll left/right to view all the statuses. In the Cancelled status, you will be able to view the count of customers who have canceled their check-in, from the QWaits app.




By default, whenever a customer checks in, it shows up in the waiting section.

Once you tap on Waiting, a list of waiting customers is shown. When you tap on the customer, a different section opens where 5 statuses- Active, Complete, Hold, Abort and Waiting is shown.




How to make a customer Active?


As and when you are ready to attend your customer, tap on Active, and then tap on the "Get next" button. This will make your first customer in the queue, Active. If you are subscribed to a Basic plan or Premium plan with multiple queueing modes enabled, you won't be able to see this "Get next" button in the Active section. You have to tap on waiting and then tap on the customer to mark the status Active.


Once you mark the customer as Active, it signifies that it’s this customer’s turn to be served or attended. At this time, the customer gets a notification on his phone, if he/she used the Q Waits app or gets an SMS if he has checked in through SMS. If you have checked-in the customer through the business app and collected his email/SMS, he will be notified by either email or SMS. If you have not collected any contact information, you will have to call the customer.


How to mark customer status complete?


Once done with serving the customer, tap on Active and then tap on the “End and get next” button. This will change the status of the current customer to Complete and move one customer from Waiting to Active.

However when there are no customers in Waiting, and only 1 customer is Active, tap on Active, then tap on the End button.

If you are subscribed to a Basic plan or Premium plan with multiple queueing modes enabled, you need to tap on Active, then tap on the active customer and then mark the status as Complete. You can also mark your customer Complete this way if you are on Micro plan, or on Basic or Premium plan with single queueing mode enabled.


How to put a Customer on Hold?


If you wish to change the status of the customer from Active to Hold, tap on Active, then tap on the customer instead of “End and get next” button. Once you tap on the customer, you will be able to make the status as Hold. Usually, you would put a customer on hold when you cannot serve the customer for some reason and need more time, while you continue with the rest of the queue flow.


How to abort a Customer?


If you wish to change the status of the customer from Active to Abort, tap on Active, then tap on the customer. Once you tap on the customer, you will be able to make the status as Abort, by tapping on Abort. If you Abort a customer, he/she has to line up again.


All active kiosks


If you are subscribed to the Basic plan or Premium plan with multiple queueing modes enabled, you will have the privilege to view customers of all the kiosks. For your convenience, we show you the Active customer(s) of your kiosk by default. At any point in time if you wish to have a look at all the kiosks virtually, then turn this on.




Queue Settings


In the Queue section at the top right corner of your screen, you will find the settings icon. Once you tap on the Settings icon you will be able to visualize the total count of respective statuses (Active, Waiting, Hold, Complete & Abort.). Also, you will be able to turn on/off your queue, allow business check-in only, and also reset your queue.




Kiosk#


You can select any of the kiosks available (added from Business settings) and mark it for you. At any point in time if you wish to clear your selection or change your kiosk, tap on the edit icon and you will be able to clear and edit your kiosk.


This feature is available only if you subscribe for a Basic plan or Premium plan.


Allow business check-in only


By default Allow Business Check-in is turned off for a business. When this feature is turned off, the user can check-in through Q Waits app or through SMS. If you wish to allow check-in only through the Business app, then turn on this feature.



Archive & reset queue


It is recommended that you archive and reset the queue at the end of your business operations every day when you close the queue. Once you archive and reset the queue, all the queue information gets archived for the day. All the counters get reset to 0 at this point.


Archived information is then used for reports and analytics.



6 views